Meggit's Blog

Basghetti!

Posted on: June 11, 2010

Yeah, so I would write about how working 60+ hours a week is the best possible thing for me, inevitably jinxing things and sending me into a downward health spiral for the week.  Yay!  Look at the good I do.

It depends on the day, but I’m usually pretty okay with this being the rest of my life.  I’m okay with fibromyalgia, Celiac disease, all or none of the above, but it’s also pretty shitty to know exactly what’s coming up.  There’s nothing I can do to stop it, it runs its course how it wants, and sometimes that means I’m fine but other times it means I’m collapsing at work and flailing for my cane to hold me up.  (Both the cane and the door saved me from truly busting my ass, and now I have a big bruise to poke at, so it all worked out in the end.)  At least I have insurance again and can hopefully get on the road to feeling better, but that’s not really an exact science either.  For now all I can do is roll with it.  Hopefully I’ll have a doctor after Monday and everything will come together!

I say this every time I find a new doctor, but maybe this time will be legit.

It’s been a good week aside from all that.  I’ve been applying for permanent jobs like crazy and hoping something will stick, and today was superfun.  It was Julie‘s last day at the office, which makes me very sad, but it was such a joy to have our work timeframes overlap at all!  Lunch and a cookie date were highlights of the day, as well as explaining to everyone how I incorrectly pronounce the word “submarine.”  (Sumbarine.)  I do not say “basghetti” instead of “spaghetti,” though, so at least there’s that.

Another good thing today: I checked out a gym I’m hoping to join, which should be good times!  Even though I am supersonically lazy, I am also tremendously cheap — like, so cheap I’m not even embarrassed to admit it here.  Paying for a gym membership is probably the best way to ensure I’ll actually go and work out, unlike the gym I mostly ignored in college.  I want to be healthy and I also haven’t worn a bikini since I was about seven years old, and even then I was embarrassed to be so fat in it.  I can’t imagine a world where I’ll ever feel differently but I would like to try finding out.

Happy Friday, y’all!

Leave a Reply

  • None
  • Megan: Seriously, SO blessed!! Tim is bringing his lunch to the food court just to witness the spicy chicken blessing! You and your plate o' meat will obvi
  • Julie: YES! You've been talking about the spicy chicken for a long time, so I will be SO excited for you when it actually turns into reality for you. Then, y

Categories

Archives

