Meggit's Blog

Back Again

Posted on: June 5, 2010

I’ve done the blog thing a few times before and never stuck it out, but here we are!  Having a bloggy friend in real life has motivated me to get back into it.  (Thanks, Julie!)

I’m back in Arlington, VA, this summer just like I was last year, which is a totally drastic change from Greensboro, NC.  I love Greensboro about five million times more than I’d ever expected when I started college there, but it’s mostly the people I’ve met.  It’s my best friend (although he’s moved), it’s my loves at Friendly Center, it’s our store which is legitimately special — I’m not even being a revisionist on that last part, it’s just true.

DC is a completely different animal but in a wonderful way.  I work at least 60 hours a week, and I can’t lie and say that doesn’t suck sometimes, but I function so much better when I’m working my ass off.  There’s just not time to lose your shit when you’re working 7:30 AM to 10:00 PM, your schedule doesn’t allow it, and that totally works in my favor.  My day job is wonderful and my night job is really coming together in ways I couldn’t have imagined, so even as tired as I am, it’s worth it.

The dream was always to wind up in New York — that’s been my plan since we first moved out of there when I was ten, and now I’m not so sure.  DC is such a wonderful mix.  It’s big city enough, but it’s also Southern enough.  It’s not the South, it’s just the South’s hat.  I can take the metro anywhere I want, but I walk through quiet residential areas to get to/from my night job.

I think this summer I’m essentially living my dream.  I’m looking around my apartment and I’m pretty sure this is what I’ve always wanted.  Don’t get me wrong, I still wholeheartedly believe home is where your heart is, and my heart is an amalgam of cities (Jacksonville, Morrisville, Greensboro), but I’m here and it’s good.

It’s going to be an amazing summer, I can feel it.  My parents are coming to visit in two weeks, my best friend will be here in three or four, my childhood best friend’s wedding is in August… good things are approaching!  Let’s count on it.

Leave a Reply

  • None
  • Megan: Seriously, SO blessed!! Tim is bringing his lunch to the food court just to witness the spicy chicken blessing! You and your plate o' meat will obvi
  • Julie: YES! You've been talking about the spicy chicken for a long time, so I will be SO excited for you when it actually turns into reality for you. Then, y

Categories

Archives

